A Child’s Prayer

Written when I was younger around the time when Grandpa died.

A Child’s Prayer

“We can’t stay young forever,
My child, that’s a fact.
Your grandpa is in heaven.”
“But Mama, what is that?”

“A place for all good people.”
“Will I end up there too?”
“If you’re good an honest darling.”
“Wow Mama, is it true?”

“Yes dear, there’s just one way.”
“Is your religion right?”
“Of course! It can’t be wrong.
You say your prayers tonight.”

Dear Lord, if you are up there,
My Mama says you’re real,
But Santa turned out fake,
I don’t know how I feel.

And if you do exist Lord,
How do I know what’s right?
There are so many religions,
And Lord, why do they fight?

Why is it wrong to question?
My faith must have a cause.
Lord, why do bad things happen,
Like hurricanes and wars?

My Mama says she’s right,
But my dad does not believe.
I feel just like a fly trapped
In the tangled web they weave.

The thought of you helps many
When contemplating death,
But what if people made you
To comfort all those left?

Dear Lord, I need an answer.
If there’s none, I’ll cease to pray.
Can’t you see I’m desperate?
What more can I say?”

© (Please do not reproduce any of my poems without my permission and without acknowledging my blog)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Child’s Prayer

  1. kaptonok says:

    Excellent sentiments , childish but true.

    Like

  2. Vivien says:

    Wow, pure in it’s simplicity. Very moving. You are gifted xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

