Some of the Things I Love About Winnie The Pooh

Winnie the Pooh is amazing, the characters and their unique traits are so relevant today and I wanted to share with you what I love most about their wonderful little community.

Eeyore

Eeyore is my favourite character in this series. I guess that already tells you something about my character, but we’re discussing Eeyore here, so lets focus on him.
Poor Eeyore has trouble seeing the positive in anything:

“Good morning, Eeyore,” said Pooh.
“Good morning, Pooh Bear,” said Eeyore gloomily. “If it is a good morning,” he said. “Which I doubt,” said he.

Here’s another Eeyore quote I love:

“The nicest thing about the rain is that it always stops. Eventually.”

He has trouble believing that anybody cares about him or wants him around. I especially like this conversation between Owl and Eeyore.

“There is an Invitation for you.” [Owl]
“What’s that like?”    [Eeyore]
“An Invitation!”      
“Yes, I heard you. Who dropped it?”     
“This isn’t something to eat, it’s asking you to the party. Tomorrow.”    
Eeyore shook his head slowly.
“You mean Piglet. The little fellow with the exited ears. That’s Piglet. I’ll tell him.”
“No, no!” said Owl, getting quite fussy. “It’s you!”
“Are you sure?”
“Of course I’m sure. Christopher Robin said ‘All of them! Tell all of them'”
“All of them, except Eeyore?”
“All of them,” said Owl sulkily.
“Ah!” said Eeyore. “A mistake, no doubt, but still, I shall come. Only don’t blame me when it rains.

Eeyore is so pessimistic, one could say he is depressed even, but he’s just so lovable. I love that his friends still accept him just the way he is. They still always include him and they never walk off in a fluff or give up, even when he’s exasperating them in the way he was to poor Owl here. No, Eeyore’s friends are true friends who are always trying to help him, but never trying to change him.

Piglet

One of Piglet’s main problems is that he thinks too much. Poor Piglet is over anxious and an extreme worry wart. This dialogue from inside Piglet’s head is just the sort that I have when I’m all worked up and anxious, so I feel his pain!

But he didn’t feel very brave, for the word which was really jiggeting about in his brain was “Heffalumps.”
What was a Heffalump like?
Was it fierce?
Did it come when you whistled? And how did it come?
Was it fond of pigs at all?
If it was fond of pigs, did it make any difference what sort of pig?
Supposing it was fierce with pigs, would it make any difference if the pig had a grandfather called TRESPASSERS WILLIAM?
He didn’t know the answer to any of these questions…and he was going to see his first Heffalump in about an hour from now!
Of course Pooh would be with him, and it was much more friendly with two. But suppose Heffalumps were very fierce with pigs and bears?
Wouldn’t it be better to pretend that he had a headache, and couldn’t go up to the Six Pine Trees this morning? But then suppose that it was a very fine day, and there was no Heffalump in the trap, here he would be in bed all morning, simply wasting his time for nothing. What should he do?

Luckily, Piglet has wonderful friends who reassure him, and I just love how his friends are always there for him. Below is an example of a time when they went to rescue him when he was distressed, regardless of whether he was actually in danger or not.

You can imagine Piglet’s joy when at last the ship came in sight of him. In after-years he liked to think that he had been in very great danger during the terrible flood, but the only danger he had really been in was the last half-hour of his imprisonment, when Owl, who had just flown up, sat on a branch of his tree to comfort him, and told him a very long story about an aunt who had once laid a seagull’s egg by mistake, and the story went on and on, rather like this sentence, until Piglet who was listening out of his window without much hope, went to sleep quietly and naturally, slipping slowly out of the window towards the water until he was only hanging on by his toes, at which moment, luckily, a sudden loud squawk from Owl, which was really part of the story, being what his aunt said, woke Piglet up and just gave him time to jerk himself back into safety and say “How interesting, and did she?” when..well, you can imagine his joy when at last he saw the good ship, Brain of Pooh (Captain, C. Robin: 1st Mate, P. Bear) coming over the sea to rescue him..

Oh to have friends like this. I love how we see in Piglet what it’s like to be worried and anxious all the time, but we also see in his friends just how to treat a worried anxious person with kindness and tenderness. If something is too much for Piglet and he wants to run away, they let him run away and don’t make a huge issue of it or get offended. Pooh doesn’t get frustrated with Piglet for his worry and the anxiety that holds him back, but he gently encourages him and supports him all the way. It almost brings a tear to my eye to think about it!

Pooh

Pooh is a bee short of a beehive, a sandwich short of a picnic, if you get my drift, and he knows it. I love how he states his short-comings so matter-of-factly and is not ashamed to admit that he doesn’t know something, like this sentence he said to Owl:

‘For I am a Bear of Very Little Brain, and long words Bother me.’ 

But the great thing about Pooh is that, although he isn’t the brainiest one of the bunch, he teaches us to appreciate the simplest things in life. Life is what we make it and we can make simple things like breakfast become a joy instead of just a thing we do.

“When you wake in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”
“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”
“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet. Pooh nodded thoughtfully.
“It’s the same thing,” he said. 

Pooh takes us back to the uncomplicated things. I love his childlike curiosity:

“Hallo!” said Piglet, “what are you doing?
“Hunting,” said Pooh.
“Hunting what?”
“Tracking something,” said Winnie-the-Pooh very mysteriously.
“Tracking what?” said Piglet, coming closer.
“That’s just what I ask myself. I ask myself, What?”
“What do you think you’ll answer?”
“I shall have to wait until I catch up with it,” said Winnie-the-Pooh.

I also just love Pooh logic:

“That buzzing noise means something. You don’t get a buzzing noise like that, just buzzing and buzzing, without its meaning something. If there’s a buzzing noise, somebody’s making a buzzing noise, and the only reason for making a buzzing noise that I know of is because you’re a bee.”
Then he thought another long time, and said: “And the only reason for being a bee that I know of is making honey.”
And then he got up, and said: “And the only reason for making honey is so as I can eat it.” 

Here’s another one:

“If I know anything about anything, that hole means Rabbit,” he said, “and Rabbit means Company,” he said, “and Company means Food and Listening-to-Me-Humming and such like.”

And a final one just for good measure:

“And if anyone knows anything about anything,” said Bear to himself, “it’s Owl who knows something about something,” he said, “or my name’s not Winnie-the-Pooh,” he said. “Which it is,” he added. “So there you are.”

I especially love the simple game Pooh invented, called Poohsticks:

“That’s funny,” said Pooh. “I dropped it on the other side,” said Pooh, “and it came out on this side! I wonder if it would do it again?” And he went back for some more fir-cones. It did. It kept on doing it. Then he dropped two in at once, and leant over the bridge to see which of them would come out first; and one of them did; but as they were both the same size, he didn’t know if it was the one which he wanted to win, or the other one. 

Because Pooh lives a simple life, he doesn’t get caught up in stress and worry and he is able to get such a thrill from the little things. His simple child-like curiosity is something that we tend to lose as we get older, especially now with all our tech and gadgets that keep us inside. Pooh reminds us to take pleasure in the simple things. I love how Pooh is not ashamed to admit his short-comings, but he isn’t insecure because he has friends who love him. He teaches us not to pretend; to be proud of our achievements and to admit when we’ve failed. So often we get into misunderstandings or accidentally offend people because we’ve pretended to know something or be someone we really aren’t. Unlike most of us, Pooh doesn’t get in his own way by worrying about the future because the wonderful thing about Pooh is that he lives in the moment.

Well, that’s enough for this time, I’ll have to do the rest of the characters another day. But I think there’s a lot to be learnt from this special little crew 🙂

This entry was posted in Inside My Head. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some of the Things I Love About Winnie The Pooh

Leave a Reply

