The Joys of Married Life

Today I’d like to share a silly, lighthearted little poem I wrote in a letter to my grandma a few months after my husband and I were married. I hope you enjoy 🙂

The Joys of Married Life

I’ll tell you about married life,
How busy I’ve become!
There’s so much cooking,
Cleaning and washing to be done!

Husbands must be like children,
They create so much mess!
Although my husband does help out,
To this I must confess.

I’m sick of washing glasses
Because every time he drinks,
My darling goes and puts his cup,
Right into the sink!

Then next time I am thirsty,
I open up the cupboard,
But alas there are no glasses,
I feel much like Mother Hubbard!

The other day I cut his hair,
I can’t say I did too well,
But now the bald patch has grown back,
I think his head looks swell!

When I ask him questions,
He always nods his head,
But I very soon find out
He heard nothing that I said!

But when all is said and done,
My husband I adore,
He manages to put up with me,
So who could ask for more!

He endures my constant nagging
And takes it on the chin
Whenever things go wrong
And I blame it all on him!

He puts up with my freezing feet
Even when at night
I try to warm them on his legs
And he gets quite a fright!

I’m really very happy
And enjoying married life,
Whoever thought that I’d become
Somebody’s housewife!

© (Please do not reproduce any of my poems without my permission and without acknowledging my blog)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joys of Married Life

  1. dannyka6 says:

    Fabulous, put a big smile on my face, can totally relate. You’re very clever with words!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Justahousewife says:

      Thank you! 🙂 It isn’t perfect because it was just a silly little one I wrote down quickly one time when I thought I’d do something different in a letter to Grandma 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

